You can Delete a custodian from your legal hold, which effectively releases that custodian and will notify them that they have been removed from the Legal Hold. However, the deleted custodian will no longer appear on the Legal Hold within the project.
How to delete a custodian from your hold
To delete a custodian from your Legal Hold, just hover over the kebab (3 vertical dots) to the right of the custodian card on your list of custodians, then select "Delete Custodian."
A pop-up confirmation modal will appear. Check the box if you want to notify the custodian of their removal from the Hold. Otherwise, leave it un-checked.