This feature is available to customers on the Business+ Plan.

Data Copy allows customers to copy data from existing projects into new projects - eliminating the need to re-process that data. This is of potentially great value to Logikcull customers who routinely face requests for data belonging to a select and predictable group of custodians. Also, this can help reduce the volume of data you have in one single Logikcull project or for utilizing Logikcull as a private data room.

For example, if you uploaded documents belonging to several custodians for Case A, you can copy all the documents associated with one of those individual custodians to a separate Logikcull project (Case B) without having to re-upload that data.

The mechanics of Data Copy are powerfully simple, allowing you to jump into an existing Logikcull project and identify relevant data, copy that data, and reuse it in another Logikcull project. 

It requires 3 easy steps:

  1. Identify the documents you want to copy to a new project and create a Saved Search of those documents.

2. Under the options in Saved Searches, you’ll see “Copy to...” Click this option.

3. Select the work product you'd like to copy and the destination project, then click "Start Copy".


The data, including their family members (i.e. attachments), will copy from one project to another. And the data will continue to be de-duplicated against data in the receiving project.

Q&A on Data Copy

Q: How long does it take to copy?

A: It will depend on how much data you are copying. In our testing, we saw speeds of 20,000 to 40,000 docs/hour. It's very fast because you don't have to re-process the data. And as our storage system gets faster, so too will Data Copy speeds.

Q: Can I copy data from one Logikcull account to another Logikcull account?

A: For now you can only copy data from one project to another project within one Logikcull account. To transfer data to another Logikcull account, you can use Instant Review!

Q: Is this an actual copy of the data or just links to the original data?

A: It's an actual copy. We chose to copy the data fully due to data integrity issues. Please know that when you copy data that your storage size can, and likely will, go up. However, your amount of data processed will stay the same (because we aren’t re-processing the data!).

Q: Will work product, like tags, notes, redactions, and comments, copy as well?

A: Yes, you can copy your work product.

Q: Is there any work product that can't be copied?

A: Yes. Redactions and comments will not be copied, so the "Has Redactions" and "Has Comments" tags will not transfer.

Q: How do I know which data was copied and which data is copied?

A: Super easy. We created two new QC Tags called "Was copied" and "Is copied". Just click on these filters in the Filter Carousel and you'll see which is which. You can also see where the data came from by clicking on Metadata. Keep in mind, only the originally uploaded version of the data will be copied. Any additional versions created through a download from Logikcull will be made accessible within the original project(s) they were created in.

Q: How do I know when a Data Copy job is complete?

A: By email and in-app notice. We engineered Data Copy to be a new kind of Upload. This means all Data Copy jobs will show up under the uploads tab of a Project and in the uploads-filter. This makes it super-easy to audit your Data Copy jobs.

Q: Who can perform a Data Copy?

A: Only users with Project Admin, Account Admin, and Account Owner rights.

Q: If I run a Data Copy job to reduce storage, and then delete the projects where the data was originally copied from, is the deleted data still available?

A: No. When you delete a project - it's permanent. That copied data, though, will still exist in the new Project.

Q: Will download information be carried over to the new project?

A: No, download/production information (like bates numbering) will not carry over to the new project.

Q: Does performing data copy increase the size of my monthly GB storage?

A: Performing data copy will increase the size of your storage for the current month if you are creating duplicate records. You are literally creating a copy of the selected documents in a new project. Storage charges will apply in accordance with your plan.

Did this answer your question?